Tata Safari and Tata Harrier Facelift Receive 5-Star Safety Rating


Of late, safety has become an important aspect in consideration when you buy new car. This quest for safety has pushed the boundaries for design and manufacturing vehicles.

Two vehicles that have recently captured the spotlight in this endeavour are the Tata Safari and Tata Harrier facelift, both of which have earned the coveted 5-star rating at the Global New Car Assessment Programme (NCAP). These SUVs excelled in adult occupant protection, earning a remarkable score of 33.05 out of 34 points. Additionally, they demonstrated strong performance in child occupant protection, with a noteworthy score of 45 out of 49 points.

Tata Motors has established a strong reputation for prioritizing vehicle safety, particularly with its flagship models, the Tata Harrier and Tata Safari. Over the years, these vehicles have demonstrated their robustness and life-saving capabilities in numerous fatal accidents throughout the country. However, Tata Motors faced ongoing scrutiny for not subjecting the Harrier and Safari to NCAP safety ratings, which was seen as a vulnerability against its competitors.

Nevertheless, the recent achievement of a 5-star safety rating has silenced the critics, allowing Tata Motors to proudly declare that its entire vehicle line-up now boasts 5-star GNCAP safety ratings. This accomplishment signifies an outstanding milestone in Tata Motors’ commitment to ensure the safety of its customers.

Let’s see what all elements make the Tata Harrier and Safari 5-star safety-rated vehicles 

Tata Harrier and Safari Platform

The Tata Harrier and Safari SUVs are built upon the OMEGARC (Optimal Modular Efficient Global Advanced Architecture) platform by Tata Motors, which has its roots in Land Rover’s D8 platform. This shared foundation serves as a robust base for implementing safety improvements in both vehicles. Furthermore, Tata Motors has made substantial structural enhancements to bolster the strength of the Tata Safari and Harrier. These improvements involve the strategic use of high-strength steel in critical areas, combined with a sturdy frame design, all working together to significantly enhance safety in the event of accidents. This commitment to structural integrity plays a pivotal role in their achievement of the coveted 5-star safety rating.

See also  How to Remove Bubbles from Paint Protection Film

Standard Safety Features 

Even in their base variants, Tata Motors has prioritized safety in the Harrier and the Safari. The Tata Harrier base (smart) trim is equipped with a comprehensive set of safety features to ensure passenger well-being and driving security. These include ISOFIX child seat anchors, a 6-airbag system, tilt and telescopic steering, and advanced safety technologies like ESP, Hill Hold Control, Traction Control, Roll-Over Mitigation, Corner Stability Control, Brake Disc Wiping, After Impact Braking, Panic Brake Alert, and ABS with EBD. Additionally, it features a rear parking sensor, height-adjustable seatbelts, 3-point seatbelts with reminders, a perimetric alarm system, and central locking. Notably, the Tata Safari Base trim also includes all 4-disc brakes as a standard feature. These are just the baseline safety elements found across all variants of these SUVs, and depending on the variant, additional safety features are included such as 7 airbags and ADAS.


ADAS, or Advanced Driver Assistance Systems, encompasses a suite of vehicle technologies aimed at boosting safety and convenience. These systems rely on sensors, cameras, and radar to offer real-time data to drivers while helping them navigate the road safely and avoid accidents. In 2023, Tata Motors set the bar high by introducing ADAS functions in their Harrier and Safari models, offering 11 assistance features that elevate the driving experience. The ADAS features in the Harrier and Safari are as follows

  • Forward collision warning: Notifies of potential front-end collisions.
  • Autonomous emergency braking: Warns and assists in sudden braking.
  • High beam assist: Automatically adjusts high beams for optimal visibility.
  • Lane departure warning: Alerts for unintentional lane changes.
  • Lane change alert: Keeps the driver vigilant on the road.
  • Blind spot detection: Warns of nearby vehicles in blind spots.
  • Door opening alert: Warns of fast-approaching vehicles when a door is open.
  • Traffic sign recognition: Aids in parking and navigating congested areas.
  • Rear cross-traffic alert: Notifies of potential rear-end collisions.
  • Rear collision warning: Alerts to potential rear collisions.
See also  How to Change Your Car's Oil Filter

Adaptive Cruise control: Maintains safe distances following front vehicles and controls vehicle speed & braking.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here